The Leadership Council is a group of preeminent senior executive leaders in healthcare. The Council reflects a remarkable cross-section of nationally recognized leaders, including CEOs and presidents of major health systems and institutions, prominent foundations, consultancies, and more.

Leadership Council members provide the Carol Emmott Fellowship deep expertise and wide visibility. They act as mentors, keynote speakers, and convergence conference panelists, and help drive the Fellowship’s vision of elevating women to the topmost ranks of healthcare leadership. Fellows interact with Leadership Council members throughout the year.

For a complete list of Leadership Council members and short bios, download our PDF.

At the 2017 San Francisco convergence conference:
Richard Slavin, MD, former CEO, Palo Alto Medical Foundation
David Anderson, Senior Advisor, BDC Advisors
David Blumenthal, President, The Commonwealth Fund
Barbara Anderman, Governing Board member, Leadership Council Chair, Carol Emmott Fellowship
Stephanie McCutcheon, CEO, Health Employers Exchange; Principal, McCutcheon and Co.
Mary Pittman, President & CEO, Public Health Institute
Bruce Solomon, former EVP & COO Wellspan, Healthcare Consultant


Barbara Anderman
Leadership Council Chair
Carol Emmott Fellowship

David Anderson
BDC Advisors

Sandra H. Austin
Formerly with Alvarez & Marsal Healthcare Industry Group and Howard University Hospital

Audre Bagnall
UChicago Medicine

David Blumenthal
The Commonwealth Fund

Odette Bolano
Saint Alphonsus Health System

Raquel C. Bono
(Retired) Defense Health Agency, Medical Corps, US Navy

Marna Borgstrom
Yale New Haven Health

Lisa Brandenburg
University of Washington

Rhonda Brandon
Duke Health

Ruth W. Brinkley
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan Mid Atlantic States

Gayle Capozzalo
The Equity Collaborative

Ceci Connolly
Alliance of Community Health Plans

Joanne Conroy
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health

Jennifer Daley
Cigna HealthCare

Meredith Damore

Emme Deland
New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Adrienne Edens
The College of Healthcare Information Management Executives

Walt Ettinger
Healthcare Consultant, Formerly with the University of Maryland School of Medicine

Kevin Fickenscher
CREO Strategic Solutions, LLC

Elizabeth Fowler
The Commonwealth Fund

Elena Fuentes-Afflick
University of California San Francisco, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

Tejal Gandhi
Press Ganey

Rebekah Gee
LSU New Orleans Health System

Larry Goodman
(Retired) Rush System and Rush University Medical Center

Pamela Hudson
Center for Digital Health Innovation at UCSF

Christine Hunter
(Retired) U.S. Office of Personnel Management

Sachin Jain
SCAN Group and Healthplan

Kathryn Johnson
Formerly with Health Forum; Global Health Consultant

Wright L. Lassiter III
Henry Ford Health System

Vivian Lee

Sharon Levine
The Permanente Federation

Shannon Lorbiecki

Bonnie Simpson Mason
Nth Dimensions

Anne McCune
The Carol Emmott Foundation

Stephanie McCutcheon
Health Employer Exchange

Robert Nordgren
Palo Alto Medical Foundation

Sharon O’Keefe
University of Chicago Medical Center

Barbara Pelletreau
Dignity Health

Julie Petrini
Sutter Health

Mary Pittman
Public Health Institute

Claire Pomeroy
Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

Deborah Prothrow-Stith
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science

Robert Riney
Henry Ford Health System

Deborah Romer
Healthcare Executive

Jaewon Ryu

Robert Saroyan
Valley Children’s Healthcare

PK Scheerle
Gifted Healthcare

Nancy Schlichting
Formerly with Henry Ford Health System; Walgreens Boots Alliance and Hill-Rom Holdings, Inc.

Cheryl Scott
McClintock Scott Group

Bruce Solomon
Healthcare Consultant

Cynthia Sparer
Yale New Haven Health

Todd Suntrapak
Valley Children’s Healthcare

Nancy Valentine
Northern Illinois University

Lizz Vilardo
Sutter Health

Andy Wiesenthal
Deloitte Consulting, LLP

Jane Willemsen
John Muir Health